Counter-terror officers ready to be deployed

Jul 21, 2018

FAISALABAD: As part of security measures for general elections, the Counter Terrorism Department (CTD) officials have been appointed across Punjab to monitor terrorist activities and arrest suspicious persons.

At least 2,374 CTD officers will perform duty on Election Day on July 25 in 139 National Assembly and 298 provincial assembly constituencies.

A CTD official told Express News that the move has been initiated keeping in view terror threats and law and order situation. The CTD will deploy 89 officials in 10 NA and 3,764 polling booths of the provincial assembly for 21 seats in Faisalabad, 77 in three NA and 1,210 polling stations of seven provincial assembly seats in Jhang and 68 officers in Toba Tek Singh’s three NA and six provincial assembly seats with 1,227 polling booths.

Similarly, 58 CTD officials will be deployed in Chiniot’s two NA and four provincial assembly seats consisting of 610 polling stations, 160 officers in 14 NA and 30 provincial assembly seats consisting of 3,885 polling stations while 109 employees will be deployed in four NA and nine provincial assembly seats in Sheikhupura with 1,275 polling booths.

In Kasur, 39 officials will be deputed on surveillance duty in four NA and nine provincial assembly seats consisting of 1,575 polling stations. For Nankana Sahab’s two NA and four provincial assembly seats, at least 35 CTD officials will be deployed at 657 polling stations.

In addition, 175 CTD personnel will be on duty at 1,816 polling booths in Gujranwala, 61 officials at 1,366 polling stations in Sialkot while 64 employees will be performing duties in Gujrat’s 1,455 polling stations.

In Mandi Bahauddin, 36 CTD personnel will be deployed at 701 polling stations, 36 officials at Hafizabad’s 593 polling booths, 32 officials will render services for Narowal’s 761 polling stations, while 230 CTD employees will be appointed at 1,817 polling stations in Multan.

In Khanewal, 50 CTD officials will be deployed at 1,375 polling booths, 50 officers will perform duty at 1,375 polling stations in Vehari, 63 CTD officials will be appointed at Sahiwal’s 1,292 polling stations, while 18 employees will be deputed at 1,286 polling stations in Okara.

Police arrest four ‘TTP terrorists’ in Multan, foil bid to target top politicians

Officials revealed that CTD personnel will also be deployed in other cities, including Pakpattan, Bahawalpur, Chakwal, Bhakkar, Mianwali, Layyah, Khushab, Rjanpur etc.

They said that it is the prime responsibility of the police to maintain law and order during elections and provide security to the people. They said the CTD has devised a comprehensive strategy to counter any untoward incident during the election process.